Conversation Hour

Standard

Seems that the world is only ever going to allow me 24 hours in the day when I feel like I need 48 or even 72 hours to get all I want done. Why is that there never seems conversationsto be enough time?

Well for me it because I can be a great procrastinate when I chose to be and that I also have so many creative ideas going at once that my time can get wasted jumping from one direction to another never completing anything.

So I have chosen to narrow the focus so that I can then expand my horizon, yes I know sounds a little backwards. However for my mind I need to focus solely on one creative project at time. I am still working on all of them, just narrowing to focus to daily individual devotion to each project. So I have now I have set up a timetable as to what I will be working on each day and at what time. For creative people this can be a daunting task, taking away the pure spontaneity of creation and deliberating focusing on it can for some seem to stifle the creative flow.  For me it has seen a growth in productivity.

It has also allowed me to clarify the direction of each project. Setting clear goals and deadlines. One of my biggest projects is a book series I am working on, while it has been floundering in the background for some time it is now full speed ahead with November 2014 as the deadline to have it completed, edited and art work done…. I never like to take on small projects.

At a writers workshop I attended a few years ago Lucy Cavendish advised everyone there  that the most important part of writing was to ‘show up’. If you showed up and wrote one full-page a day at the end of the year you would have a book with 365 pages in it. makes perfect sense when you look at it that way. So for the last few weeks I have been committed to showing up and writing a page a day. I call it my conversation hour. I have the conversation with the characters and their journey and you know what we have a great time.

Now I know I am expecting a lot and some may say setting my sights a little too high. Well while I understand that life happens and if need be time frames will shift. However as some who knows how easy it is to procrastinate I believe that some of us… a lot of us choose to let life happen and let it get in the way… after all we all look for a way out of doing things at some stage don’t we. So I have new-found determination to not allow trivial life moments and other people’s drama to hinder the progress.

My conversation hour will go on and on untill the project is finished, after all its only 1 out of the 24 hours I have been given each day to use as effectively I want to.

What will your 24 hours allow you to achieve ???   Life is magic

Leave a Reply

